Presidential search committee finalized, first meeting announced

USC's presidential search committee announced on Nov. 7 the final members who will choose the next university president following President Harris Pastides’ retirement in July 2019.

The remaining members were appointed by the faculty senate at its Nov. 6 meeting. Marco Valtorta, faculty senate chair, will serve on the committee along with Julius Fridriksson from the Arnold School of Public Health. Araceli Hernandez-Laroche of USC Upstate will serve as the system faculty representative. 

The board of trustees elected its voting members at its October meeting. They are trustees Hubert F. Mobley, who will also serve as chair of the committee, William C. Hubbard, Leah B. Moody, C. Dorn Smith III and Eugene P. Warr Jr.

The student representative will be Student Body President Taylor Wright. He will continue on the committee past his graduation in May if the new university president has not yet been chosen at that time.

Robert F. Dozier Jr. will represent the My Carolina Alumni Association and William C. Hammett Jr. will represent USC Foundations. Other special advisers will be Mark W. Buyck Jr., as a gubernatorial designee, and trustee Miles Loadholt.

The first meeting of the presidential search committee will be on Nov. 8 at 10 a.m. in the Osborne Administration Building in room 107c.  

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Daily Gamecock.