Brian Almond, Brian Almond

Student-athletes honored at Gamecock Gala

USC athletes traded their playing fields for a red carpet Monday evening at the annual Gamecock Gala awards ceremony at Colonial Life Arena.

The President’s Award was given to track and field senior captain Breanna Radford, who earned a shot put bronze medal at the 2013 SEC Indoor Championships.

Sophomore football defensive end Jadeveon Clowney was named the male Athlete of the Year, and women’s basketball senior guard Ieasia Walker and track and field junior Jeannelle Scheper were named female Athletes of the Year.

Former football tailback Marcus Lattimore was honored with the Gamecock Inspiration Award and was named the team’s Most Valuable Player.

ESPN’s Cara Capuana and Anish Shroff served as emcees for the ceremony.
A complete list of award recipients from the 2013 Gamecock Gala is below.

_— Compiled by Sarah Ellis, Assistant News Editor
*2013 Gamecock Gala Award Winners
SEC H. Boyd McWhorter Award
Whitney Avers (swimming & diving)
LB Dantzler (baseball)

SEC Brad Davis Community Service Award
Breanna Radford (track & field)
Patrick Sullivan (baseball)

New Student-Athlete of the Year
Kayla Lampe (cross country)
Michael Carrera (men’s basketball)

Community Outreach Team of the Year

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Kimberly McCormack (equestrian)
Robert Razick (track & field)

Athletes of the Year
Ieasia Walker (women’s basketball)
Jeannelle Scheper (track & field)
Jadeveon Clowney (football)

The Gamecock Inspiration Award
Marcus Lattimore (football)

The Garnet Award
Doyle McBride

The President’s Award
Breanna Radford

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Daily Gamecock.