The Daily Gamecock

South Carolina General Assembly elects 2 new board of trustees members

Emma Wyatt Morris and Brian Harlan will join USC's board of trustees to represent the 10th and 8th Judicial Circuits, respectively, USC announced Tuesday.

They were elected by the South Carolina General Assembly on Sept. 23.

Morris graduated from USC in 1992 with a degree in business administration/finance and is a practicing attorney with a focus in estate and business law. Her seat was previously held by Chuck Allen.

Harlan currently serves as chief executive officer of the Lakelands Region YMCA. His seat was previously held by King Dixon, who died in July of this year. Dixon had been temporarily appointed to the seat after longtime board member A.C. "Bubba" Fennell died in December 2019.

Harlan graduated from USC in 1990. Harlan and Morris are each married with three children. 

“I’m pleased to extend my congratulations and warm welcome to the new University of South Carolina Board of Trustees members,” President Bob Caslen said in a press release. “I look forward to working with Emma Morris, Brian Harlan and all of the trustees as we continue to transform the lives of the people of South Carolina and become the preeminent flagship university in the nation.”

Trustees Miles Loadholt, Eugene P. Warr Jr., Hugh Mobley, Rose Buyck Newton, J. Egerton Burroughs and Leah B. Moody were re-elected to the board.

A regular trustee term lasts four years. Other members of the board are up for re-election in 2022.

USC's board of trustees consists of the state education superintendent, the president of the USC Alumni Association and representatives from each of the state's 16 judicial circuits. Gov. Henry McMaster also serves on the board and can appoint another member. The governor "usually designates someone to fill the governor’s seat on the board," according to the board of trustees' website.