The Daily Gamecock

Student Government executive office candidates announced

<p>The sun rises behind the Maxcy monument on the Horseshoe.&nbsp;</p>

The sun rises behind the Maxcy monument on the Horseshoe. 

Student Government executive office candidate names were released Thursday night following the mandatory candidate's meeting, which was hosted by the elections commission.

The candidates for student body president include Aidan Baker, Alex Harrell, Caden Askew and Cameron Butler. 

The candidates for student body vice president include Ashlyn Osborne and Emily Dengler.

The candidates for student body treasurer include John Lind, Katherine Turner, Matthew Durant and Samuel Courson. 

The candidates for speaker of the student senate include Kyna Robinson, Christian Phillips and Morgianna McDevitt.

Baker and Dengler are running under the "Evolve" campaign. Harrell and Turner are also running mates, as are Askew and Osborne.

The conclusion of the candidate’s meeting marked the beginning of the soft campaigning period. Soft campaigning includes emailing, passing out pre-approved campaign flyers and publicly announcing candidacy.

Candidates will begin hard campaigning after the executive candidate debate next Tuesday at 7 p.m. in the Pastides Alumni Center Ballroom. Hard campaigning includes tabling, holding campaign rallies and all other approved campaign methods.

Editor's note: Christian Phillips is a news writer with The Daily Gamecock. Phillips does not report on Student Government.

This article was updated on Feb. 12 at 11:14 a.m.